|CNY Hiking HOME PAGE||New York State Parks||New York State Forests||Hiking in Central New York|
New York State Parks
Visit Fort Ontario State Historic Site and you will see the star shaped fort restored to its 1868-1872 appearance. Visitor's can explore the buildings in the fort as well as the inside of the main fort walls. Be sure to check out the post cemetery at the end of the park road. Admission to inside the park is a reasonable $4 per adult.
Since 1755 Fort Ontario has been rebuilt, regarrisoned, and changed hands several times. Immediately following the Civil War, Fort Ontario began a period of decreased activity and improvements and additions ceased.
The fort found new life between 1903 and 1905 when the United States expanded the post as part of the army's reorganization. By 1941 approximately 125 buildings stood at the site. Between 1944 and 1946 Fort Ontario was used as an emergency refugee center for victims of the Holocaust. In 1946 the fort was transferred to the State of New York.
- From the NYS Thruway: Take Exit 34A to NY 481 north to NY 104 East. From NY 104 take East 4th Street north (left) to the fort parking area.
Pictures from Fort Ontario State Historic Site
Unknown Soldier Gravesite
A room in the officer's quarters
|CNY Hiking HOME PAGE||New York State Parks|
contact CNY HIKING by email at email@example.com
(c) 2006-today CNY Hiking - All rights reserved. Any use of information from this site without permission is strictly forbidden.